Create API key
To connect an integration to Follow Up Boss, you usually need your Follow Up Boss API key. Create a new API key for every integration you want to connect to Follow Up Boss.
Go to Admin > API and click "Create API key" button:
You'll see a dialog asking to choose a name for your new API key:
Type the name of the integration you're going to connect with this key, this way it's easier to see later on which key is used for what. And don't worry, you can always change this name later if needed.
Next, you'll see your new API key:
For best security, this is the only time your API key is displayed, you won't see the full API key in Follow Up Boss ever again. Copy this key now and paste it into the integration you're connecting to.
If you didn't copy the key or lost it, simply create a new one. There is no harm in having unused API keys and they can be easily deleted (see section below about deleting API keys).
Important: API keys give access to your Follow Up Boss account. Make sure to keep them safe just like your password.
List of API keys
You can see a list of all your API keys on the Admin > API screen, only the last 4 digits of the key are displayed for security:
You cannot see or copy a full API key from this screen. If you need to copy your API key (e.g. to connect a new integration), create a new API key by clicking "Create API Key" button above.
To make it easier to keep track of your API keys, we show when each key was created and last time it was used in the "Created" and "Last Used" columns in the table. If you move your mouse over the Last Used time, it will show which integration(s) used that key and the last time it was used by each integration:
"Default" API key
If you signed up for Follow Up Boss on or before July 30, 2021, you may see an API key named "Default" in the list of API keys:
You may wonder what is that key since you didn't explicitly create it. This is your existing API key that was automatically created for you when you signed up on or before July 30, 2021. We kept it so that integrations you may have connected using this key keep working and there is no service disruption.
If the "Last Used" column says "Never" and you're certain that no integrations should be using this key, you can delete it (see "Delete API key" section below). Please note that you'll be logged out from mobile apps when you delete "Default" key (this won't happen for normal API keys you create going forward). And as with any other API key, any integrations using it will stop working and you'll need to create a new key and update the integrations with that new key.
Rename API key
You can rename an API keys to correct a typo or make it easier to understand what that key is for. Click on the edit icon and edit the name of the key:
Delete API key
If you stop using some integration, it's a good idea to delete the API key that integration was connected with. This will help secure your Follow Up Boss account by making sure only the integrations that you currently use have access to your Follow Up Boss account.
Click on the delete icon, double check it's the right API key you want to delete and confirm:
Integrations using that API key will loose access to your Follow Up Boss account and stop working immediately. If you made a mistake or changed your mind, create a new API key and update the integrations with the new API key.
A software developer?
If you're a software developer looking for API documentation, check our API docs.