To connect an integration with Follow Up Boss, you usually need your Follow Up Boss API key. Create a new API key for every integration you want to connect to Follow Up Boss.
Creating an API Key
- Go to Admin > API
- Click Create API Key
- Add the Name of the Integration
- Copy the API Key and directly Paste in the other system
- Select Done
If you didn't copy the key or lost it, simply create a new one. There is no harm in having unused API Keys and they can be easily deleted.
important: API Keys give access to your Follow Up Boss account. Make sure to keep them safe just like your password.
You can see a list of all your API keys on the Admin > API screen, only the last 4 digits of the key are displayed for security.
You cannot see or copy a full API Key from this screen. If you need to copy your API Key (e.g. to connect a new integration), create a new API key by clicking Create API Key button above.
To make it easier to keep track of your API Keys, we show when each key was created and the last time it was used in the Created and Last Used columns in the table. If you hover your mouse over the Last Used time, it will show which integration(s) used that key and the last time it was used by each integration.
You may wonder what this Key is used for since you didn't explicitly create it. This is your existing API Key that was automatically created for you when you signed up on or before July 30, 2021. We kept it so that integrations you may have connected using this key keep working and there is no service disruption.
If the Last Used column says Never and you're certain that no integrations should be using this key, you can delete it (see "Delete API key" section below). Please note, that you'll be logged out from mobile apps when you delete the Default API Key (this won't happen for normal API keys you create going forward). As with any other API Key, any integrations using it will stop working and you'll need to create a new key and update the integrations with that new key.
Click on the delete icon, double-check it's the right API key you want to delete, and confirm.
Integrations using that API key will lose access to your Follow Up Boss account and stop working immediately. If you made a mistake or changed your mind, create a new API Key and update the integrations with the new API Key.